The official currency of The Republic of Turkey is "Turkish Lira" which consists of "lira" and "kuruş" denominations. Current Turkish lira in the market are 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 TL banknotes; 5, 10, 25, 50 "kuruş" and 1 lira coins.


On the front surface of the banknotes there is a picture of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, and on the back, an image of an important figure or a place that reflects the culture of the country.


In many large shopping centers, hotels and restaurants Dollars and Euros are valid. The local currency of many countries can be exchanged in banks and exchange offices into Turkish Liras based on the daily exchange rate data received from the Central Bank. It's advised that the tourists visiting the city keep Turkish liras with them in order to avoid any problems that may occur.